.NET Discussion

.NET Issues, Problems, Code Samples, and Fixes

ASP.NET: How To Build A Silverlight Application


Well, I’ll tell you, I don’t think I will be building one any time soon, as I don’t think I have the time to learn about it, but after a cursory peek across the web, I’ve found some really really interesting stuff about this exciting new technology.  First, you will need to download the appropriate SDK’s etc. and install them in your Visual Studios.  In Scott Gu’s blog, he has a link to a video of him demonstrating how to build a Silverlight product from scratch.  I’ll admit, I got kind of lost a bit at the end, but I also don’t consider myself a super-advanced .NET programmer, either. 

Maybe one day I will have the need and the budget to build a Silverlight project, but for now I will just gawk at the ones you guys are creating.  I’ve always liked Flash’s interactivity and potential for extremely cool GUIs, but I hated the fact that the ActionScript changed every year or so, and that they were not compatible with each other. The fact that Silverlight can be built and configured in Visual Studios using .NET languages is fantastic, and really leads to a lot of developers being able very easily to create awesome GUIs.  Definitely a step up on Flash, at least from the developer’s perspective. With the ability to use ExpressionBlend (which I haven’t used, only seen from this demo video above) seamlessly with Visual Studios, it appears the possibilities are not only endless, but easy to achieve!

If you’re building a Silverlight application, post it here!  Depending on the response, I will create a page (like my About page) featuring my readers’ Silverlight apps.

September 7, 2007 - Posted by | ASP.NET, Silverlight, Tips & Tricks

No comments yet.

Leave a comment