.NET Discussion

.NET Issues, Problems, Code Samples, and Fixes

ASP.NET/MySQL Open Source Forum Software: Does It Exist?


I’ve been looking for a decent open source forum in ASP.NET that hooks up to a MySQL database, but it looks like there’s a serious dearth in the area of free ASP.NET forum software period!  So far I have found two.  

  • YetAnotherForum is an open-source app written in .NET (C#), but does not hook up to a MySQL server. I looked through the source code and started getting dizzy, as it’s very convoluted. Should I wish to customize it, it looks like I would have to take many hours to decipher what goes where and is called by what all over the place.  However, I’ve never really considered what goes into the making of forum software, so maybe this is just par for the course. I may end up sucking it up and going with this software, but I won’t like having two databases (MSSQL and MySQL).
  • The second .NET forum app I found was dnfBB. This is more of a plain-Jane-looking forum, but with some CSS, I’m sure I’d be able to fix it up.  It supposedly hooks up to MySQL (and Firebird and MSSQL). I say “supposedly” because I could not get this forum to install on my machine, and it’s not really open source.  I can’t really say much about it other than I couldn’t get it to work, as I received an error message during installation.

If I can’t find some good .NET forum software soon, I may have to lower myself to implementing some sort of…sigh…PHP forum software (of which there are many).  It would be a little weird running PHP and .NET simultaneously in the same site, but if I can’t come up with anything else, that might have to do. I certainly don’t have the time (nor the desire) to write forum software myself, although I probably could. Reinventing the wheel is not much fun.

Has anyone else “deigned” to mix PHP in their site with .NET simply because the right .NET software wasn’t out there? Am I killing my credibility for even suggesting this? 🙂

October 12, 2007 - Posted by | AJAX, ASP.NET, Forums, MySQL | ,

2 Comments »

  1. I’m having the exact same problem. Since dnf dosn’t seem to have any kind of manual or guide on how to install it is very hard to get it to work. I think i got a little further than you by looking at the scripts that are supposed to generate the database and running them directly. But it does not matter since i get stuck on other errors..

    Did you ever find a solution to your problem? A working .net forum that can use mysql?

    Comment by marwin | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. Marwin –

    So far, no… I’m still looking, though. I wish YAF would hurry up with their MySQL adaptation. I would already be implementing it! If you find something, please let me know!!

    Thanks for your comment 🙂

    EDIT: Apparently the other site (dnfbb.net) has gone defunct, so it looks like all we have is YAF… but none w/MySQL. Seriously? NONE??

    Comment by Some.Net(Guy) | August 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

